Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Muslim Brothers win 36 of the 56 workers' and professionals' seats in first phase of Egyptian elections

The Muslim Brotherhood’s Freedom and Justice Party (FJP) has won 34 individual seats of the 52 which were contested in the runoff of the first phase of the Egyptian elections. The FJP thereby crowned its success in this first phase of three, as it already won two seats in the first round. So all in all the FJP won 36 of the 56 seats that were to be contested. Four of the seats won by the FJP went to parties other than the FJP itself (the FJP-led alliance, formerly called the Democratic Alliance, contains 11 parties).
Mustafa al-Naggar
The Salafist Al-Nour coalition won five seats, the Egyptian Bloc two, Al-Wafd one, Al-Adl one, National Party of Egypt one and Egyptian Citizen one. Three went to independents.
Some remarkable results were that leftist El-Badry Farghaly, who was running as an independent in Port Said, secured the workers’ seat, beating Al-Nour's Ali Fouda. In Nasr City Mustafa El-Naggar, a revolutionary youth activist and member of the liberal El-Adly Party, won the professionals’ seat. In Alexandria’s second constituency, Judge Mahmoud El-Khodeiry won the professionals’ seat, beating Tarek Talaat Mustafa, a former member of Hosni Mubarak’s National Democratic Party, finally ending the Mustafa family’s three decade grip on the seat. Amr Hamzawy, a political science professor, one of the leaders of the 25 January revolution and founder of the Egypt Freedom Party already secured his seat in Heliopolis in the first round. 
Amr Hamzawy
The turnout in this second round was much less than in the first round, which stood at 52% (the election committee initially reported a turnout of 62% but later on revised this number). Other figures released by the election committee show that the list led by the FJP secured 36.6 percent in last week's polls, followed by Nour's Salafi list with 24.4 percent, and the liberal Egyptian Bloc with 13.4 percent.

No comments: